Skip to content

It’s A Wonderful World

April 18, 2012

It seems the only thing consistent about my blogging is my inconsistency. I remind myself of my children when they were toddlers and we would go to visit friends or infrequently seen family. At first, they would sit in my lap. Then, they played at my feet. As they grew more comfortable, they ventured further and further away from me, even out of the room I was in. However, every few minutes they returned if only to touch my leg or lay their head briefly in my lap, touching base before bravely allowing more distance between us.

It’s been a month since my last post and another month might have gone by had Carolyn Thomas not referenced a post from here on her HeartSisters Blog. Thank you Carolyn! and welcome to all her readers who venture here for even a moment.

At least for now, I have grown bored with writing of food. The more I wrote of eating a plant-based diet, the more I learned of others doing the same and doing it so well! Every recipe I concocted could be found somewhere else! I still experiment with recipes and we still try to stick to the extreme vegan way, but others things call for my attention and energy.

The birds are back. Like a group of old friends, they have returned to our yard. Twenty pounds of bird seed a week barely keeps them fed. The deer seem friendlier too, or more bold at least. Twice in one day this week they grazed in the front yard. I pretend I don’t see them. They pretend they don’t see me. Only when I aim a camera at them does the largest doe stomp her foot at me, telling me to leave her yard! We planted a few marigolds (the only flower the deer don’t seem to like) a few more herbs and three tomato plants.

And, we walk. Our little islands have been discovered by others as the days have warmed. Many mornings we have found piles of empty beer bottles left by revelers. Some days, we find broken vodka bottles, large shards of bright blue glass scattered around the rocks and pieces of clothing. We guess someone lost far more than a shirt on that spot the night before. We pick up trash and know that others who live nearby do the same, a silent effort to protect our little paradise.

Sometimes I feel patient and tolerant. Other times I feel angry. Mostly, I feel sad when we find evidence of such disregard for the earth, for life, for ones own life.

I was watching a show on Oprah’s network the other day about autistic children. One father said, “Who are we to judge her quality of life?” He was talking of his own autistic daughter and his wife’s grief over the life his daughter would never have. It reminded me of when the surgeons have tried to talk me into having the aortic bi-femoral bypass, stating how it will “improve your quality of life.” I always respond, “My quality of life is just fine.” That father was saying that to base the quality of his daughter’s life on his own or his wife’s experience was unfair. The surgeons are doing the same, basing the quality of my life on their own experience. What they don’t realize is my experience has allowed me to be incredibly grateful. I have an appreciation for my life, however limited or limitless it may appear, that perhaps they do not have. That little ah-hah made my shoulders drop a tad. This appreciation of life did not come easy. I left my own bits of broken glass and lost more than a few shirts in my life.

One more pastime has begun to consume us. A friend gave Lee a ukulele. We had so much fun with it that very night that the next day we had to go out and find another so we could both play. I always thought it was impossible to hear a ukulele and not smile. We find it’s also impossible to strum one and not smile either.We sing and strum and laugh and…It’s a Wonderful World

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn Thomas permalink
    April 18, 2012 7:40 pm

    Hello Allie – I too have a bird (this one has built a nest in one of the planters on my balcony!) Here’s a photo of “my” robin: http://pic.twitter.com/oK8WVj3e

    Do you think that perhaps our docs should prescribe ukeleles instead of all those statins and ACE inhibitors and anti-platelet drugs?! 🙂

  2. April 18, 2012 9:13 pm

    I’m so glad you blogged today. I was thinking of you and had planned on sending touching base with you later today. I was hoping the absence was because you were doing better things than sitting at the computer! 🙂 I’m glad you are well!

    • April 19, 2012 10:32 am

      Hi Holly, I’ve been meaning to write you, too! I so appreciate how diligent you are in your blogging and your plant based eating. I can’t imagine trying to feed a young family this way. In fact, for years I hated cooking and I think it was from trying to feed my children when they were young (four of them) with their different and yet typical childlike tastes. Anything new was usually complained about by at least one child and creativity in the kitchen was definitely not appreciated! Finding that I like, even love to cook now has been both a relief and a shock to me. It certainly helps that Lee loves everything I prepare or at least pretends to. Keep posting! I need the inspiration!

      • April 19, 2012 10:51 am

        Since my boys are so young it is easier. They don’t usually eat a lot (except during those growth spurts). The 1 year will eat almost anything. I can tell the 3 year old’s taste are changing. He would love to live on crackers but I won’t let him. When all else fails I give him a banana or an apple with peanut butter.

  3. quilterlynn permalink
    April 19, 2012 9:31 am

    Hi again Allie. Good to have you back with pen in hand. I saw Caroyn’s post referencing you. I read you both when you write.
    Like you, I find that focusing on food too much causes focus on food. So I have shifted my focus to living ‘within’ xyz food perameters. I’m following a more liberal plan that allows meat but no sugar, refined carbs, processed foods. I find my biggest challenge is sugar in all its forms and hidden places.

    No wonder I now am diabetic! But. Like you, am learning to be appreciative of my quality of life and letting go of the resentments that could so easily overtake my thinking space.

    • April 19, 2012 10:25 am

      Hi Lynn, I was thinking of you last night and wondering how you were doing. Yes! I so agree about the focus on food! It’s funny you mention adding meat to your diet. Meat isn’t something I really miss, but I do crave fish often. It’s not the same craving I feel for cheese or chocolate, but more of a real need. It’s enough of a nudge that I usually give in to it. I wonder and almost hope I really need the fish when that happens. My cardiologist calls it “damned if you do and damned if you don’t.” Do you find that it’s getting easier the longer you do without sugar? We go through fits and starts of sugar frenzy, and it’s always late at night when we cave (and in the form of chocolate most times). I’m trying to eat popcorn right now instead…gotta have the salt though…Glad you are doing well!

Leave a Reply

