Skip to content

Heart Math

January 4, 2011
cooked red quinoa

Image via Wikipedia

I have a beloved aunt who is more than a little concerned about our “fat-free” eating. While it is a relief to try to convince her we cheat more often than she believes we do, she is in fact under the same misconception most are and we were concerning going the fat-free route.

The more correct term is “No added fat.” For breakfast this morning, we had quinoa with a tsp of brown sugar. 1/4 cup of cooked quinoa has 3 gm of fat. I’m making lentil soup for dinner. Cooked lentils have over 13 grams of fat per cup. Our goal is to limit our added fat to 10 grams per day. Added means not on the list of bare vegetables, fruits, whole grains and legumes, excluding avocados, coconut and nuts. Any oil is added fat. Any dairy or egg is added. Any fish or meat of any kind is added fat.

Last night we had scallops and asparagus for dinner. Scallops, the way we prepared them with no fat added, have 1/2 gram of fat each. I had three. The asparagus was roasted with no fat added. It’s fat content alone is .16 gram per stalk. We also had a little chocolate and a few baked Doritos. They were, by the way, a huge disappointment. We kept expecting each one to be a “real” Doritos, when in fact, each one was more disappointing than the one before. The chocolate and Doritos would contain lots of “added fat,” as most processed foods do.

We are both curious about how much fat we are consuming if we stick to the plan, so my plan is to keep at least a one week diary of all we eat and calculate the no added fat, fat content along with any fat we do add. Lee is curious about our percentage of calories from fat. A woman I admire very much from the Inspire world posted some videos about the negative effects of statins. She often posts such warnings and I can’t say I disagree. I’m simply too terrified to heed them. I  admit being confused by the conflicting reports concerning cholesterol and heart disease. I have felt better though and to me, that is the best indicator and the most convincing study.

So, I suppose this keeping track of the fat I eat that is “not added,” allows me to make some sense of it all in my own mind. Whether that makes sense to anyone else, we’ll see. It may turn out to be like solving a math problem but being unable to “show my work” or explain how I came up with the answer.

Stay tuned, then for a numbers game,

Oh, I had to look up how to calculate fat calories and percentage of calories from fat.

Multiply each fat gram by 9

Divide that number by the total calories of the serving of food

Multiply that by 100.

Example,

Quinoa has 170 calories, 3 grams of fat, so

3X9=27

divide 27 by 170= 0.15882352941

multiply that by 100, so

0.15882352941  x 100 = 15.882352941, or 16% rounded off

Today so far,

1/4 cup cooked quinoa= 170 calories, 3 gm fat, 16% of calories from fat

1 tsp brown sugar= 11 calories, o fat, 0% calories from fat

Total thus far today= 181 calories, 3 gm fat, 15% calories from fat

cool, huh?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

