Skip to content

Have a Quinoa Christmas!

December 15, 2010

Here’s a Fat Free Christmas Gift, new words to “Deck the Halls” in honor of the whole grain Quinoa and Lee’s brother Eric (fitness and health guru…singing and dancing wonder), who told us of its fiber wonders. We like it for breakfast with a tad of brown sugar and dash of cinnamon.


Deck the Potty


Deck the bowels with bowls of quinoa

Fa la la la la la la la la

You can keep your bowels clean, YA!

Fa la la la la la la la la

To every potty you will venture

Fa la la la la la la la la

Pooping now is an adventure

Fa la la la la la la la la

 

We gained this knowledge from our brother

Fa la la la la la la la la

He knows bowels like no other

Fa la la la la la la la la

He can keep you fit and healthy

Fa la la la la la la la la

Even if you’re poor, not wealthy

Fa la la la la la la la la

 

We now eat beans and tofurkey

Fa la la la la la la la la

Cause it keeps our bowels perky

Fa la la la la la la la la

We enjoy our Quinoa living

Fa la la la la la la la la

It’s the gift that keeps on giving

Fa la la la la la la la la


I’m not quite sure on what to blame my absence from the blogosphere world except the Holidays. Thanksgiving was wonderful and though we have yet to really adhere with strict conviction to a fat-free diet again, we have both continued to lose weight and keep our daily fat intake below 10gms. Lee’s weight loss remains more rapid, but mine does trudge along. I’m up to a whopping 9# weight loss over the past two months, still pretty much double the loss from the gain of the previous year plus a few months.

For the most part, we have changed the way we eat. Veering off the plan a few times each week is a conscious choice with little regret. Well, the day we decided to eat a steak was regrettable. We went to Longhorn for lunch. We both ordered the small lunch sirloin. We both ordered our steaks “medium,” expecting a pink center. Instead, it was “rare.” Instead of sending them back, we attempted to eat them. Maybe this was a subconscious desire to not eat the steak. Neither of us got even halfway through. It was greasy, gross and well…regrettable. It did, however, completely cure our craving for a steak.

I am feeling the length and effects of Winter and longing for other fresh vegetables. We went to the DeKalb Farmer’s market, the largest around and did find delicious corn. I have no idea where they grow corn this time of year. It was a treat though. Yesterday, we went to Trader’s Joe’s, always a fun excursion. I would much prefer to live at the beach, somewhere where the weather is always warm and a fresh tomato can be grown on the front porch year round.

On a less jovial note, we have decided to look for an adoptive family for Rudi. Tears are always close and I swear he said “Mama” the other day. No dog on the planet is sweeter. His classes at the local pet super store have proved how smart he is. We walk in the door and he transforms into Super Dog. We walk out the door, any door, anywhere outside and he transforms into Super Nose. The smelling ability of the Basset Hound is second only to the Bloodhound and even his trainer says this is really beyond his control. The problem is, it is unsafe.

If we had a fenced yard and I didn’t have to take him out on a leash, perhaps it would be different. If we didn’t live with deer, raccoons, fox, squirrels, geese and every bird known to the Eastern United States as our yard mates, things might be different. Add to the mix, Plavix and Aspirin and even Coumadin for Lee and it’s a risky situation. He is just too strong. Too many times there have been near tumbles down the concrete front steps as he drags me towards the scent trail of some animal who has recently been in our yard.

I shine a flashlight around the yard before going out after dark, but still find us just feet from a few deer at least once a week. Holding back a 70# hound dog when three lovely deer stand twenty feet away, frozen in their tracks is no small feat. Once Rudi gets over the initial thrill, he is generally terrified of them and takes off for the front door, but that, too is dangerous. Had he a red nose, he could surely pull Santa’s sleigh with no help needed by Blitzen and the rest of the gang.

Our dear boy needs a home with a fence and another young and large dog to play with, maybe an adolescent child or two to chase after and wrestle with. He also needs a loving lap on which to lay his massive head and a few hearts who will love him as readily as he loves. He will always hold mine.

Most days I feel great. I tend to overdo…ignoring the warning and ding ding ding that signals I’ve had and done enough. I pay for this ignorance by having to recover the next day, but recovery doesn’t mean going to bed as it use to. It just means staying home and doing little. The energy chips I have, I’ve spent shopping, wrapping and working diligently to stretch our precious and few Christmas bucks. The house is a nasty mess and the laundry piles high. Lee has gotten over her phobia of me going down the basement stairs, but I haven’t quite fallen back into the laundry routine. I found out she was calling around getting prices from maid services as a Christmas gift for me. Of course, we can’t afford it, but it was a beautifully sweet and lovely thought. I would have loved it, too! as ridiculous as it would seem to be home and still have someone come in and clean. I have to admit though, I can clean a little or cook a little or go a little or do a little laundry. I still can’t do them all. Like it or not and even though I am sooooooo much better, I can’t do what I would love to do.

I have no complaints though. Seldom does a day go by when I’m not reminded that I am so much better. The wheelchair hasn’t been out of the sun room in weeks. I have used one at the store from time to time, but only after walking around some other store first.

I have a few online friends, women I met through Inspire. Were I still philosophical, I might try to figure out how I became friends with these particular women out of all the women on Inspire. Instead, I’m grateful for them and hoping they all are enjoying the Christmas season. I know they are all appreciating each day, each breath, each new memory. This is not one of those well read blogs. There are only a handful of you who subscribe. That for some reason you have chosen to enter my life in this bizarrely private and public way fills me with both awe and gratitude. Thank you for caring in some way about my journey. I imagine it is not unlike your own.

I hope to write again before Christmas, but should I not, Merry Christmas to you all.

May your hearts overflow with love and should you have an “event,” for heaven’s sake, stay away from the light!

“See” you next year!

Love and more love, life and more life, joy and more joy,

Allie

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 2:51 pm

    Allie, did you write that “Deck The Potty” song? I’ll never be able to sing it the “old” way ever again! Well done!

    I wish you lots of good luck in finding a loving new home for your Rudi. Is there anything sadder than “losing” a pet, no matter how they leave us? I’ve secretly harbored my cat Lucy in a no-pets apartment building for three years now, but our bombastic drill sargeant of a strata president has recently been making ugly noises about “cats in the building” (there are several of us rule-breakers here – all indoor cats, who would even know or care?!) But if he decides to start laying down the law, the Strata Council has the power to fine owners for every week they are not in compliance with our bylaws, in which case I too will be looking for a new home for Lucy. She is blissfully unaware that our time together might be growing short! Sigh….

    Happy Christmas to you,
    hugs
    C.

    • December 15, 2010 4:56 pm

      Hi Carolyn, yea, the song came as we were driving along the other day…having to visit every potty we came to. It reminded me of a toddler who has to check the potty in every store…we begin and end in much the same way I suppose.
      I do hope the Strata council finds better things to do than patrol for kitties and you don’t have to find Lucy another home. Though I know another can love Rudi as I do and would be overjoyed to have him, I want so to be able to keep him.
      Merry Christmas to you and a hug to you and Lucy. Al

  2. Lynn permalink
    December 19, 2010 1:00 pm

    Have to laugh Allie! I’m in NC helping out my daughter after surgery (good news!) on on ovary, but struggling with getting the ‘system’ going again. And what should appear in my email but your lovely and timely rendition of “Deck the Potty!”

    I’ll be sure to share it with her although I’m not sure her sense of humor is stable enough for it right this moment! tee hee

    Have a Merry, Merry Christmas and enjoy those excursions from the strict and rigid eating plan. I know I intend to.

    Love you,
    Lynn

    • December 19, 2010 7:58 pm

      Thanks Lynn and I hope everything gets moving along for your daughter! including healing quickly. I’m sure having her Mom around is the best help of all. No hope for dietary adherence till after the New Year! I do intend to enjoy it all, in moderation of course. Enjoy every bite my friend. Love to you, Allie

  3. December 23, 2010 12:50 am

    I love Quinoa! Never thought about trying it with brown sugar and cinnamon. Brilliant! I love it. I can’t wait to try it. I just came across your blog so I haven’t been able to discern yet if you have completely switched to a plant-based diet.. but that is how I found your site. 🙂 I am a physician who advocates a plant-based diet for wellness. It’s personally helped me. Have a great one. Jenn (www.theplantrx.com)

Leave a Reply

