Skip to content

Horn Tooting Day

November 11, 2010
Trumpet

Image via Wikipedia

This “diet” has morphed into something else. It has mysteriously changed from some sort of self-torture experiment to how we eat. Even when we eat out and bend our “rules,” or splurge on some chocolate, it no longer feels as if we have to decide again to eat the way we have been eating these past few weeks. The decision is gone, at least for now. This is just how we eat.

I even find that when we do go off the plan, usually out somewhere, coming home and eating a plate of some sort of grain with an assortment of vegetables feels like finally having a home cooked meal after eating fast food for a week use to feel.

Tonight, we’ll eat an assortment of roasted vegetables. Ready to go in the oven is a sliced red pepper, sliced tomato, chopped zucchini, chopped yellow squash and asparagus. We’ll eat all those vegetables with fresh black-eye peas I cooked earlier today, mixed with out first batch of barley, also cooked earlier today. I’ve sprinkled it all with Cavender’s Greek Seasoning. I love that stuff, in case you couldn’t tell. And, we love barley! Who’d have thought barley would taste so good?

I hesitate to toot this horn, that crazy thing about jinxing things, but I walked, very slowly around the mall yesterday. I didn’t walk all over the place, but I did go into almost half a dozen stores. No wheelchair. First time in almost two years. No wheelchair at all! For real. After that, we went to Target and I walked all over there, too. I did use the buggy as a walker in Target, but I still walked and I walked right past the electric wheelchair by the front doors and my wheelchair was miles away at home. That wasn’t the end of it though. After all that, I still attended a gathering and walked up stairs, down stairs and was still able to walk into our home over twelve hours after leaving it. Toot Toot!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lynn Kelly permalink
    November 11, 2010 9:00 pm

    Yea! Allie!!!!!!

    I’m so glad to hear about your increased mobility!

Leave a Reply

