Skip to content

Coring Boring Cabbage

October 21, 2010
stage 1-rolling cabbage

Image via Wikipedia

Our meals get more and more strange. That was the weirdest stuffed cabbage I ever had.

First of all, I made a pot of whole grain rice.

Next I chopped up two carrots, half an onion, about a cup of mushrooms and one stalk of celery in my new little Ninja. I have to say, I love this thing! We may never really have to chew again! I cooked all these veggies in leftover butternut squash soup instead of vegetable broth. When the vegetables were tender, I added about a cup and a half of cooked rice and let it simmer until it was thick.

Next I cooked the cabbage, coring it and cooking it whole in boiling lightly salted water. Then I stuffed about a dozen leaves, lining a 9 x 13 dish, covered it with the remaining butternut squash soup and baked it about 20 minutes. I also roasted a bunch of asparagus hoping it would cover me in its diuretic magic.

I saved the remaining cooked cabbage and the broth it cooked in. I’ve become a leftover saving fool.

Lee loved the meal. I thought it was dull and boring. If I did it again, I’d use corn tortillas instead of cabbage leaves and a tomato sauce instead of the butternut soup. I guess I’d make it enchiladas instead of stuffed cabbage. A couple of cups of cheese would have helped, too.

We ate early then had toast from the bread I’d made the day before as a snack. At first, we put fruit only jelly on it. It was good, but not as good as the next batch. We sprayed the toast lightly with that soy wanna be butter spray, just enough so a light dusting with cinnamon/sugar would stick. I swear it tasted like a hot giant cinnamon roll, you know the huge gooey ones at the mall.That bread is delicious. Way better than the fluffy stuff at the store.

Last night I dreamed I was on vacation (my third or fourth vacation dream lately) buying a giant size Milky Way bar. The night before, I’d dreamed of buying a new dress, the devil and the angel side by side on my shoulders. That we are performing two weddings and a Memorial Service this weekend and I have to fit into some sort of ministerial attire is probably fueling the dreams. At the first wedding, we’ll be sitting at the Bridal Table for dinner. No telling what sort of fat laden feast will be set before us. When we said yes to this invitation, we were still eating like normal folk.

I think I’ll take a cooking vacation today. I’ll have a banana and later a bowl of rice. There are plenty of leftovers in the frig if I need more than that.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 4:51 pm

    I read you were going to make stuffed cabbage so I got to thinking…..I have a 2/3 head of cabbage to use, so I chopped it all up, started cooking a small batch of bulgar (cause I was out of lentils and quinoa and rice) and when all cabbage was chopped got out a big skillet and sauted onion/garlic/peppers and then added some water and then the cabbage.

    Somewhere along the way added Chipolte pepper powder (Penzy’s) cumin, a little oregano, some coarse salt (just a little), some canned black beans, and then put it all together with some salsa! (Think color and appearance!)

    Sprinkled some lemon juice at the end and then served it all hot in a large WW burrito tortilla!

    Served with halved grape tomatoes, diced cucumbers, green onions in red wine vinegar with a bit of sugar and some fresh oregano!

    Ummmmmm! Great!

    Lynn

    Delicious!

Leave a Reply

