Skip to content

Bread Making is Not for Sissies!

October 19, 2010
Terracotta statur woman kneading dough 5th cen...

Image via Wikipedia

I have just made, well almost made, my first ever loaf of bread. The recipe is from, Everyday Cooking with Dr. Dean Ornish, page 133. The dough is rising now. It needs to do that for 1-2 hours.

Bread making is not for sissies! Kneading that dough the required eight minutes is the most aerobic exercise I’ve had since all this heart stuff began! I had to use the Nitro spray! My throat still feels thick and full and my back left shoulder aches a little.

Just the smell of the flour and yeast is heavenly though, and I can’t wait to smell the aroma of the bread baking in the oven. Eating it tonight with the butternut squash soup will feel like we stepped out of a page of Martha Stewart Living magazine!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 3:11 pm

    I love your journey and it is very similar to my vegan journey, which is about 4 months old. Thanks for taking the time to write about it. I spend my time cleaning my quilting space to hopefully someday make time to actually quilt (if I ever get off the computer!) GoingStrong from WomenHeart

Leave a Reply

