Skip to content

Stop and Smell the Garlic

October 14, 2010

 

An Ikea garlic press, with pressed garlic.

Image via Wikipedia

 

Last night was easy. I cooked half a chopped onion and chopped clove of garlic in Veg broth, then added a can of black bean, a cup of frozen corn and a small can of green chilies. I put a thin layer of refried pinto beans on corn tortillas and bit of that wanna be cheese and heated them until the cheese stuff melted. We filled them with the corn and bean mixture. De-lish and I think I would have liked it better without the cheese.

I also made a batch of brown rice. Lee took the rice with the bean and corn mix for lunch today. We have about 1/2 cup of the mixture left.

I also made hummus again, a can of chick peas, this time using a handful of sun dried tomatoes, a clove of garlic, about 2 TBSP chopped onion, red pepper flakes and the juice of half a lemon. I love the smokiness of the sun dried tomatoes (and I was never crazy about them before).

For dessert, we had a Fruit and Seed variety Ryvita cracker. This seems to be my favorite “dessert” type thing so far. It’s just sweet enough, but not too much that I want a “real” dessert. We also tried eating dates for dessert the other night. We could only eat two each. They have 29gm of sugar per five dates, so it’s no wonder they seemed mega sweet to us.

I got on the scales today. 132.5#. That’s six pounds in two weeks. We were sitting at the table after dinner last night and Lee suddenly says, “Your face looks thinner.” I almost cried. When I’ve seen pictures of myself this last year, I cringe at how plump and round my face has looked.

I went to the basement this morning to retrieve a load of clothes from the dryer. As I got to the top of the stairs, a washcloth fell off the top of the stack, falling all the way to the bottom of the stairs. I set the load down and went back downstairs to get it. By the time I got back to the top, my legs were hurting, hips burning, chest pounding and I was out of breath. I can’t wait to write about going up and down those stairs twice without having those symptoms! I do remember when I had to stop to rest halfway up the first flight of stairs. It’s all relative.

This is a touchy subject, but have you ever been around a vegan who smelled funny? I ‘ve wondered if it was the combination of curry and garlic, but sometimes vegans just have this funny smell. I don’t want to smell like that. I know, I know…that’s so vain, but I really, really don’t want to! I wear perfume to clean the house. Lee and I both like to smell good. We’ve been eating a lot of fresh garlic lately. Even a bit of curry. My fear is we will smell like that and not realize it. Lee thinks she’ll smell it on me and I’ll be able to smell it on her. But is that true? If we both smell that way, could be notice? If we ever do, I sure hope someone tells us. Dean Ornish says you start to smell better as you eat this way. I just don’t want to smell worse. When I got up this morning, I noticed the house still smelled like garlic. Do I smell like garlic, too? Is it oozing from my pores?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    October 14, 2010 7:51 pm

    Garlic Smell vs Flavor & Health…pick your poison! We have a restaurant in San Fran called “The Stinking Rose”, of course, all about garlic. If I pick up a whiff here on the west coast, you’ve probably gone overboard.

    xox Mary

Leave a Reply

