Skip to content

Fire!

October 3, 2010

In my efforts to add flavor to our limited diet, I went way overboard with the Chipotle Chili Powder. For lunch, I cooked some brown rice. As it was cooking, I not only added a bit of salt, but about a tablespoon of the chili powder. Lee and I both like spicy food. Mexican is her favorite. To go over the rice, I sautéed some half an onion in veggie stock and added to it a can of black beans, a can of whole kernel corn and a can of original “Rotel.” I also added another tablespoon or two of the  chili powder. While very tasty, it was entirely too hot.

The oven warmed tortilla shells we had with it were not even close to enough to cut the heat. I drank two glasses of tea, got choked once and both eyes were watering profusely by the time I’d finished. I ate quickly, as one might walk briskly over hot coals, making myself do it despite the pain, hurrying to get it over with.

We agreed that just a quarter cup of either the rice or the black bean mixture would serve as adequate seasoning for an entire pot of soup. I put the leftovers in the frig, enough flavoring to last at least a month. I got the larger portion part perfect.

I also put on a pot of Pinto Beans for dinner tonight. I’ll use Goya Ham Flavoring to fool our taste buds into thinking they have some pork added for flavor. I will not be seasoning them with the fiery flavoring of the leftovers. Nice and bland will do just fine.

For dessert, I blended 3 large peaches, 1 cup of plain yogurt, a splash of Vanilla Extract and 2 tablespoons of brown sugar. I would have used honey, but realized I didn’t have any. Somehow the brown sugar felt healthier than plain granulated white sugar. After blending, I put it in the freezer. I’m hoping it will serve as ice cream. We haven’t tried it yet though. Our mouth’s are too traumatized to eat anything else. We’ll try it later.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    October 4, 2010 2:00 am

    tips for smoothies:

    slice up bananas, put in zip lock and freeze. They take the place of ice cubes. We also freeze strawberries, raspberries. Use a splash of OJ or soy milk for the liquid. Process soft fruit and the liquid splash first, when you get some puree going, then add other fruits slowly. Ice will also freezify things – a couple of cubes at at time. Chopped spinach can also be added. The color will be funky, but it cuts the sweetness and adds veg healthfulness. Banana base, add pineapple and some coconut, maybe ice. Very tropical. Hardly ever a need for sugar. Grapes can add sweetness too, if needed. Cold diminishes the sweet taste so you end up needing more sweet if it’s cold.

    It’s common to OD on smoothies in the beginning ~ but it’s too much sugar as the fiber from the fruit is pre-broken down in beverage form, prior to digestion. Add some soy protein power (Whole foods does a good one) – don’t have to go overboard. Use lower glycemic fruits, too.

    Enjoy the fun – we have a small one almost every AM!

Leave a Reply

