Skip to content

The Suspense is Thrilling Me!

July 30, 2010

before

Today I could wash my hair if I wanted to. I do want to. I am so eager to know what it will be like after shampooing. Yet, one of the trainers that came to the salon said he believed the longer you waited before that first wash the better. My hair doesn’t look dirty yet, so I’m going to wait another day. They told us that for the first forty-eight hours; if our hair got wet or frizzed in the humidity, to immediately take a hot iron to it and straighten it back out. I had to do that three times. First, after sleeping that initial night, then after I took the dogs out in the early morning mugginess and again after wearing my glasses all day.  My hair had a slight dent above each ear where my glasses had been. They warned us that any dents, curls or frizz left during those first two days would become permanent. Since then though, my hair seems to be unfazed by my nighttime calisthenics or the deep south summer humidity. It is bone straight, as perfectly smooth as when I walked out of the salon the other day.  That is very, very different!

Here is a picture taken a couple of years ago. It is not a picture of my curls in all their glory, but as curly a do as I had a ready picture of and was willing to post for all the world to see. I’m thinner here, too. It’s before surgery, before stents, before all the meds and before this sedentary life I now live.

Stay tuned for the after shot!

I’m conducting an experiment. Of late, I’ve had muscle aching every afternoon, much like the aching with a fever or the flu. In addition to that, at night when I try to sleep, my muscles cramp, most severe in my legs, but all my muscles are involved. I had the cramping after a couple of months taking Zocor for cholesterol right after the bypass. For the last year, I’ve taken Crestor. I’ve heard and read the horror stories about statins, but dared not, NOT take it due to how out of control my chol numbers were and the aggressive nature of the disease in me. Today, for the second day, I did not take the Crestor. We shall see if the little pink pill was the culprit. My cholesterol numbers are much improved, a fact I attribute as much to all the fish (like salmon, tuna and mahi mahi) we eat as to the drugs I take.

All this suspense in my laid back life!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 8:52 am

    nice article, Allie you are really good writer keep sharing with us

  2. Wanda permalink
    July 31, 2010 11:10 pm

    Inspirational…all of them. Each one is a tiny glimpse into your heart, the new heart that beats strong as you ocnitnue to walk this journey. Can’t wait to see the new do!

Leave a Reply

